Economic Development

SMR Education Session

On March 13th 2024 Birch Hills County held an education at the Eaglesham Hall with professional speakers offering information and answered questions for residents. The speakers who presented were: 

  • Vanessa White – Executive Director of Alberta Innovates Clean Technology Team.
  • Dr Neil Alexander – Independent Consultant with 40 years of experience in handling radioactive materials.
  • Professor Arthur Situm – Canada Research Chair in SMR Safety and Licensing, University of Regina.
  • Brian Fehrenbach – Director of Business Development, Organization of Canadian Nuclear Industries (OCNI)
  • Larissa Shasko – former leader of the Saskatchewan Green Party, now studying nuclear engagement at the Johnson -Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy.

Presentations from the Education Session

Professor Arther Situm with Nuclear 101 

Click here for Nuclear 101 lecture

Dr. Neil Alexander with Nuclear in the Media 

Click here for The Media – Neil Alexander

Larissa Shasko with Nuclear Power and the Environment 

Click here for Nuclear Power and the Enviroment